top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemaddiermcclure

Blog #3

I decided to write my blog on the section in chapter 11, “Exploring Topics & Creating A Research Proposal” about freewriting. Free Writing has been hugely influential in my life and helps me every time I write an essay. The book says the goal of freewriting is “to get your ideas written down, without judging what you're writing, or editing yourself, or trying to write beautifully. When I first sit down a write a paper, specifically a essay about a text, I write down quotes and ideas that stand out to me, write why they stand out to me, and why the quotes I picked are important to the meaning of the text as a whole. Those scribbled down barely legal writings on the scratch piece of paper, are the bones of the paper. From there I start each quote and write a paragraph about it, create a thesis statement and bam, a 5 paragraph essay done in no time. Each time I finish a paper, I look back at the original works and see how the essay evolved and truly became a piece of text. Like “The Bedford Book of Genres” says, “You might be surprised to see the ideas you generate”.


11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page