top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemaddiermcclure

Blog #7

I think the most important piece out of chapter 13 is how to use, understand, and format MLA style papers. MLA is used throughout the world and can be seen as one commonly known format to refrain from confusion and miscommunication. Also, by using an annotated bibliography, you can prevent plagiarism and maybe from receiving a 0 on your first English paper. I have been using MLA format since 9th grade, and it is now almost habit for me to go ahead and open a document, create a heading and a header and double space my paragraphs. Using Times New Roman 12 point is also crucial because if everyone were just to use whatever font they wanted, someone fonts might be hard to read and words my day challenging to decipher. Works cited page, which is the same as a bibliography, has also been extremely helpful in my writing endeavors. I also cite my information as soon as I find it, including the URL, that way throughout my work, if I want to go back and look at a sauce it's right there ready to go. If I end up not using one of the sources, I can just delete it from the bibliography. Also in text citation are handy for when you're reading others work, that way if you are confused on a quote or information provided by the source, you can find exactly where it is in the source (paragraph, pages, stanza, etc.) It is also helpful to do research on your own, if you are reading an MLA formatted paper for your own personal research, you can find what they used as sources and try to learn from them as well.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page